Biden announces travel restrictions on eight countries in response to Omicron variant

Biden announces travel restrictions on eight countries in response to Omicron variant
New ban will affect eight African countries

总统 乔拜登 announced on Friday that his administration would ban 旅行 from eight countries beginning on Monday, 作为 我们 seeks to prevent the spread of a new 冠状病毒病-19 variant dubbed “Omicron”.

A statement from the White House indicated that travel from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi would be temporarily halted. The new policy does not apply to US citizens or lawful permanent residents of the United States.

“As a precautionary measure until we have more information, I am ordering additional air travel restrictions from South Africa and seven other countries. These new restrictions will take effect on November 29. As we move forward, we will continue to be guided by what the science and my medical team advises,” the president said in a prepared statement released minutes after the ban was announced.

“[吨]he news about this new variant should make clearer than ever why this pandemic will not end until we have global vaccinations,” Mr Biden continued, before asserting: “The United States has already donated more vaccines to other countries than every other country combined. It is time for other countries to match America’s speed and generosity. “

Mr Biden also reiterated his call for the World Trade Organization (在那里面) to remove the patent protections for Covid-19 vaccines, a position opposed by pharmaceutical companies that stand to make billions in profits from the jabs. He first endorsed the idea earlier this year, as calls grew for ways to make the vaccine more accessible in developing countries.

“If you have not gotten vaccinated, or have not taken your children to get vaccinated, now is the time,” the president’s statement continued.

The Omicron variant contains more mutations that previous variants of the Covid-19 virus, and scientists have yet to conclusively determine whether it is more transmissible, though the World Health Organization (WHO) said that there are reasons for concern over whether the Omicron variant carries a greater risk for reinfection.

Such a potential for greater risk of reinfection is worrisome because many who survive Covid-19 battle long-term side effects of the infection including damage to senses of taste and smell, as well as breathing issues. Such individuals could be seriously debilitated or even killed by a second, serious infection.

“This variant has a large number of mutations and some of these mutations have worrying characteristics,” said a spokesperson for the WHO on Friday, according to German news organisation DW News.

The US was not the only country to act on Friday. Just over two dozen nations that make up the European Union voted to implement travel restrictions as well, following the United Kingdom’s announcement on Thursday.

A previous variant known as “Delta” spread widely across the US this year as Mr Biden’s administration sought to surge vaccination rates around the country; many jurisdictions in the US, including Washington DC, were forced to reinstate mask mandates and other restrictions in July after initially lifting them.

Covid-19 has been attributed by the CDC as causing more than 764,000 deaths across the US since the pandemic began in early 2020. Hospitalisations and new cases are once again rising as the US continues to battle the Delta variant, particularly in areas where vaccination rates are low.

Just about 70 percent of the US’s total population is at least partially vaccinated against Covid-19, while about 60 percent have received at least two doses, according to the Mayo Clinic.


您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *