End of an era as Great Britain lose Olympic men’s four final

End of an era as Great Britain lose Olympic men’s four final
Great Britain had won the event at every Olympics in the 21st century.

Great Britain’s dominance of the men’s four at the Olympic Games came to an end in Tokyo.

The team of Oliver Cook, Matthew Rossiter, Rory Gibbs and Sholto Carnegie failed to win a medal in an event that had ended in British victory at the last five Games, stretching back to the turn of the millennium.

这里, the PA news agency looks back at Great Britain’s winning run in the competition.

悉尼 2000

Pinsent, Foster, Redgrave and Cracknell celebrated in Sydney (John Giles/PA)

Steve Redgrave entered Olympic history by winning his fifth consecutive gold medal alongside Matthew Pinsent, Tim Foster and James Cracknell A thrilling race saw the British crew win by less than half a second ahead of their closest rivals 意大利 at Penrith Lakes. It was Pinsent’s third successive Olympic gold and a first for Foster and Cracknell.

雅典 2004

Pinsent claimed his fourth gold medal as Britain pipped world champions Canada. Pinsent and fellow Sydney champion James Cracknell, along with Ed Coode and Steve Williams, won by the narrowest of margins. The Canadian crew cranked up the pressure in the final stages but the GB four dug deep to edge them out in a photo finish by 0.08 秒, while Italy took bronze.

北京 2008

詹姆士, 威廉姆斯, Reed and Triggs-Hodge made it a treble in Beijing (PA档案)

Williams was joined by Tom James, Pete Reed and Andrew Triggs Hodge as the Brits made it a hat-trick of golds in China. They came from a length down on the Australian crew with 500m remaining to triumph by half a length.

伦敦 2012

Britain took gold four for the fourth successive Games as Reed, Triggs Hodge, James and Alex Gregory edged out Australia again at Eton Dorney. Roared on by a capacity home crowd, they blasted out of the blocks to lead after 500m and although Australia stayed within a third of a length with 500m to go, Triggs Hodge gave the call to push and the British stormed away.

里约 2016

Sbihi, Nash, Gregory and Louloudis were victorious in Rio (Mike Egerton/PA Wire)

Gold number five for 大不列颠 arrived in style in Rio as Mohamed Sbihi, George Nash, Constantine Louloudis and 2012 winner Gregory edged out Australia once more. Australia pushed their rivals hard again but eventually trailed in 1.83 seconds behind to take another silver, with Italy claiming the bronze.


您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必需的地方已做标记 *