Is South Africa vs British and Irish Lions on TV tonight? Kick-off time, channel and how to watch Test fixture

Is South Africa vs British and Irish Lions on TV tonight? Kick-off time, channel and how to watch Test fixture
The Lions go in search of a series win in Johannesburg

South Africa are looking for a response and comeback victory this weekend, as they host the British and Irish Lions in the second of three Test meetings.

The Lions were victorious last time out and Warren Gatland has urged his side to complete the job this time out rather than waiting for the “get out of jail free” option of the third Test, as they look to see off South Africa in back-to-back encounters.

Springboks centre Lukhanyo Am is confident his side can “read the game on the field” and “adapt” to different Lions plans, while Gatland expects this match to be “even bigger and tougher” with the response from “an incredibly proud nation”.

Meanwhile, Rassie Erasmus offered to “withdraw” himself from the Springboks’ management team after speaking out against the Lions.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the second Test.

When is the match?

The Lions take on the Springboks at 5pm BST on Saturday, 31 July in Johannseburg at the FNB Stadium.

Where can I watch it?

The match will be shown live on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Rugby, while subscribers can stream via the Sky Go app.

What is the team news?

The Lions have made three changes to the starting XV, with Conor Murray, Chris Harris and Mako Vunipola coming in. Dan Biggar will play fly-half subject to the approval of a concussion consultant.

South Africa follow suit with three changes, Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe both in as props and Jasper Wiese at No8. Ox Nche is out with a neck injury and Marco van Staden replaces Rynhardt Elstadt as loose forward cover.

What are the teams?

Springboks: 15. Willie le Roux, 14. Cheslin Kolbe, 13. Lukhanyo Am, 12. Damian de Allende, 11. Makazole Mapimpi, 10. Handré Pollard, 9. Faf de Klerk, 1. Steven Kitshoff, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 3. Frans Malherbe, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 5. Franco Mostert, 6. Siya Kolisi (capt), 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 8. Jasper Wiese.

Replacements: 16. Malcolm Marx, 17. Trevor Nyakane, 18. Vincent Koch, 19. Lood de Jager, 20. Marco van Staden, 21. Kwagga Smith, 22. Herschel Jantjies, 23. Damian Willemse.

Lions: 15. Stuart Hogg, 14. Anthony Watson, 13. Chris Harris, 12. Robbie Henshaw, 11. Duhan van der Merwe, 10. Dan Biggar, 9. Conor Murray, 1. Mako Vunipola, 2. Luke Cowan-Dickie, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. Maro Itoje, 5. Alun Wyn Jones (captain), 6. Courtney Lawes, 7. Tom Curry, 8. Jack Conan.

Replacements: 16. Ken Owens, 17. Rory Sutherland, 18. Kyle Sinckler, 19. Tadhg Beirne, 20. Taulupe Faletau, 21. Ali Price, 22. Owen Farrell, 23. Elliot Daly.


South Africa 11/10

Draw 22/1

Lions 11/13


The Springboks will be looking for a big reaction and they’ll do enough to tie up the series here with a win.