Tag Archives: Djokovics

US Open day 14: Daniil Medvedev thwarts Novak Djokovic’s bid for 2021 slam

US Open day 14: Daniil Medvedev thwarts Novak Djokovic’s bid for 2021 slam
There was a fittingly dramatic end to a wild US Open.

Daniel Medvedev ended Novak Djokovic’s quest for history – for now – by securing his maiden grand slam title in New York.

Djokovic had been bidding to become the first man since Rod Laver dans 1969 to win the calendar Grand Slam and the first ever to win a 21st major singles title.

But he succumbed to the pressure and fell at the last hurdle, with 25-year-old Russian Medvedev winning 6-4 6-4 6-4.

Image du jour

Daniil Medvedev’s video game-inspired celebration (Seth Wenig / AP)

Tweet of the day

Quote of the day

Russians know how to celebrate. Hopefully I will not get in the news.

Daniel Medvedev

Alcott gets the beers in

Australia’s Dylan Alcott is one of the game’s great characters and he fully seized his moment in the stands on Arthur Ashe after completing the Golden Slam in the wheelchair quad singles.

Anniversary present

Battle of the generations

Zhang Shuai and Sam Stosur lift the women’s doubles trophy (Elise Amendola / AP)

Australia’s Sam Stosur celebrated the 10th anniversary of her singles title in New York by winning the women’s doubles alongside China’s Zhang Shuai. The pair’s combined age of 69 a été 33 years more than that of their opponents – teenagers Coco Gauff and Caty McNally who were bidding for a first slam title.

Roll of honour

Emma Raducanu claimed a stunning triumph (Elise Amendola / AP)

Men’s singles: Novak Djokovic (Serbia)Women’s singles: Emma Raducanu (Grande Bretagne)Men’s doubles: Rajeev Ram (Etats-Unis) and Joe Salisbury (Grande Bretagne)Women’s doubles: Sam Stosur (Australie) and Zhang Shuai (Chine)Mixed doubles: Desirae Krawczyk (Etats-Unis) and Joe Salisbury (Grande Bretagne)Boys’ singles: Daniel Rincón (Espagne)Girls’ singles: Robin Montgomery (Etats-Unis)Boys’ doubles: Max Westphal (France) and Coleman Wong (Hong Kong)Girls’ doubles: Ashlyn Krueger and Robin Montgomery (Etats-Unis)Men’s wheelchair singles: Shingo Kunieda (Japon)Women’s wheelchair singles: Diede De Groot (Pays-Bas)Men’s wheelchair doubles: Alfie Hewett and Gordon Reid (Grande Bretagne)Women’s wheelchair doubles: Diede De Groot and Aniek Van Koot (Pays-Bas)Quad wheelchair singles: Dylan Alcott (Australie)Quad wheelchair doubles: Sam Schroder and Niels Vink (Pays-Bas)